Eligibility criteria

  • Which countries are eligible to apply for the European Digital Skills Awards 2023?

Projects implemented in any one of the 27 EU countries are eligible to apply for the Awards (for more information check the official list of EU countries). 
Please note that if a project is implemented in multiple countries, some of which are EU countries, and some not, the project can still apply for the EDSA23. The application, however, must be submitted by one of the partners which is located in an EU country.


  • What type of organisations can submit their candidatures?

All types of organisations, of all sizes, private, public, non profit, public organisations, National Coalitions for Digital Skills and Jobs, chambers of commerce,  schools, training centres, universities, citizen initiatives, EU funded projects etc.


  • Can consortia send applications?

Yes, they can, as long as the leading partner sends the application on behalf of the consortium, or a partner in the consortium with the authorisation of the consortium leader. 


  • Can I apply as a consortium if one or more organisations are based outside the EU?

Yes, as long as there is at least one EU country involved in the project.


  • Can EU funded projects apply?

Yes, they can. In this case the leading partner must submit the application, or a partner authorised by the leading partner.

Application procedure

  • Can I fill in the application online before creating the user and organisation in the Digital Skills and Jobs Platform?

Yes, but remember that for your application to be valid, you must complete both operations: creating a user profile and an organisation in the Digital Skills and Jobs Platform, and filling in the application form online.


  • How do I create a profile and link it to an organisation on the DSJP Platform?

You can download the instructions here.

  • In which language should I fill in the application?

Exclusively in English.


  • What are the categories to apply for the Awards? 

The Awards aim to reward projects and initiatives that are helping bridge the digital gap in 5 separate categories:

  • Empowering Youth in Digital (i.e. projects to attract the younger public to ICT professions, media literacy initiatives for the younger public, emerging technologies courses for the younger public, hackathons etc).
  • Digital Upskilling @ Work (i.e. digital upskilling and reskilling initiatives in various sectors, facilitation of job placement of ICT professionals of all levels).
  • Digital Skills for Education (i.e. projects specifically aimed at digital upskilling for teachers and/or students and school administrations).
  • Inclusion in the Digital World (i.e. digital training and media literacy initiatives for the elderly, unemployed, vulnerable groups, accessibility).
  • Women in ICT Careers (i.e projects specifically aimed at increasing the number of women ICT professionals or for the digital upskilling of women in the workforce or younger women in ICT).


  • Can I apply for more than one category?

You can apply with multiple projects but each project for one category only. So if you have a project, for example, that trains young women on ICT skills, you must between either the Women in ICT careers category or the Empowering Youth in Digital, but not both.


  • Can I apply for more than one project that my organisation is running?

Yes, this is possible.


  • How do I check if my organisation is already in the platform?

First you create a user profile, then search the list of available Organisations in the organisations database.


  • What are the prizes for the winners?

The winners will be invited to participate in the Awards Ceremony and dinner, and in the Face-to-Face Workshop organised by the Digital Skills and Jobs Platform for the National Coalitions for Digital Skills and Jobs the following day in Brussels. The prizes will include the travel and accommodation costs to Brussels for this occasion. We will also present the winners with a special diploma, a trophy and their good practice will be promoted across Europe via the Digital Skills and Jobs Platform and @DigitalSkillsEU channels.


  • Is there a prize for the finalists too?

Yes, there is. Each shortlisted finalist will receive a badge and a diploma during the Online Awards Event, and their case study/story will be promoted via the platform communications channels.

Technical issues 

  • Who can I reach out for technical support?

If you encounter technical issues, please write to info@digitalskillsjobs.eu. Please note that the Platform team is available to answer your questions during working hours (Mon -Fri  from 9.00 to 18.00).


  • What if I receive a notification that my account is blocked?

Your user account must be approved before you can start using the Platform and filling in your personal profile and the one for your organisation. Accounts are approved during working hours, so if you receive a notification that your account is blocked, do not worry, it will be activated within a short time.

Pledges for Digital Skills and European Digital Skills Awards

  • What’s the difference between Pledges and the Awards?

The Pledges for Digital Skills and the European Digital Skills Awards are initiatives launched by the Digital Skills and Jobs Platform of the European Commissions and aim to showcase the best projects in Europe that contribute to enhance digital skills. All organisations from Europe can join both initiatives but keep in mind that they have different eligibility criteria. You can submit a Pledge via the Digital Skills & Jobs Platform at any time, as there is no deadline, while you can apply for the Awards only from 20 February to 8 April 2023.

For the Pledges, the initiatives must respect the following eligibility criteria:
– Start at any time, before 2023 or in 2023.
– Be free of conditions to the beneficiaries.
– Equip Europeans, employees, unemployed, ICT specialists, teachers, students or elderly people, with the skills they need for life and work in the digital age.
– Include activities such as trainings for ICT professionals or job seekers, MOOCs for teachers, coding classes for children, etc.

For the Awards, the projects must:
– Be completed (at the latest in 2022), or must be currently running and have already accomplished 50% of its milestones.
– Be implemented in one or more EU countries.
– Support the adoption of digital skills in one of the 5 categories of the awards.

  • Can I apply for both?

Yes, you can, provided your initiative or project fulfils both sets of criteria for eligibility.