Publication Date: Apr 24, 2019

The Computing department within the Directorate for Learning & Assessment Programmes together with ICE Malta as the educative partner, organised another successful national coding competition, CODESPRINTmt, for the second consecutive year.  This event was also supported by eSkills Malta Foundation and Mannarinu Caterers.

This national coding contest is designed for secondary and post-secondary students studying Computing as an optional subject at MATSEC, Intermediate and Advanced Level. The prize for the top three code sprinters included world-class study programmes and mentorship at Ice Malta. In this year’s edition, participants had to qualify from the qualifiers round and compete in the finals round.

The main objective is to gauge participants’ problem solving, computational and programming skills in an environment different than students are accustomed to; i.e. in schools or during traditional exams. Besides being an open book challenge, participants’ work was assessed against a set of assessment criteria based on functionality and effectiveness.

The Ministry for Education is constantly delving into minimizing the gap between education and industry, in that what students learn in schools is contextualised with what happens in the workplace. Surely, CODESPRINTmt does this in the most effective manner.

This year’s Codesprint was another big success whereby 56 participants from secondary and post-secondary schools/institutions had the chance to showcase their programming abilities and meet other programming enthusiasts.  The participants’ work was assessed by a panel of six judges.

The ambassadors for CODESPRINTmt 2019 are:
    • Secondary category:  Alex Barariu from St Ignatius College, Secondary School
    • Post-Secondary category: Jurgen Aquilina from Giovanni Curmi, Higher Secondary

Runners-up are:
  • Secondary category: 
  • 2nd Place: Kurt Vella from Marija Regina College, Mosta Secondary School
  • 3rd Place: Hayley Camilleri from St Margaret College Secondary School Verdala
  • Post-Secondary category: Jurgen Aquilina from Giovanni Curmi Higher Secondary.
  • 2nd Place: Kurt Agius from Ġ.F. Abela Junior College
  • 3rd Place: Michael Debono from Ġ.F. Abela Junior College

Next year’s Codesprint will be even bigger with more categories and more surprises. Stay tuned for updates on CodeSprint Malta Facebook page on